Giveaway and New Book: Lies I Live By

4:00 AM Sarah Koves 4 Comments

These are the facts: My name is Callie Sinclair. I am seventeen years old. I live in San Francisco. I love my boyfriend, Charlie. I work for a secret governmental agency. I am a psychic spy. This romantic, action-packed twist on the classic spy novel is perfect for fans of Ally Carter’s Embassy Row series or for any reader who enjoys cinematic writing and stories of romance and intrigue.

At seventeen, Callie is the government’s youngest psychic spy, trained to track dangerous people and weapons in her visions. When another young—and handsome and witty—psychic joins the agency, Callie’s personal and professional lives get messy all at once. If she can’t find a way to change the events she’s seen in her visions, she could lose the people she loves most . . . and her mind. Literally.

Richly painted against the backdrop of San Francisco and Berkeley, Lauren Sabel’s enthralling novel captures the thrill of exploring a unique power in a dangerous world.




EXCLUSIVE EXCERPT


“Hmmm . . .” I fade into his arms, grateful that out of all the people at Bleeding Heart Catholic School—or as we called it, Bloody Hell—we found each other. And when I graduated high school last December—a semester earlier than Charlie and everyone else in my grade, thanks to Indigo’s need for me to start viewing immediately, and full time—he was the one person I missed seeing in the halls every day.

Charlie bites my lip, and I shove him playfully, and we get into an all-out wrestling match, right there in the living room. When we’re finished, and I’m pinned beneath him on the couch, sweating, he asks, “Hoover Tower?”

“Unusual choice,” I admit. Two hundred eighty-five feet tall, topped with forty-eight bells that President Hoover declared should only be rung for peace, it is the least sexy thing I can imagine. But sturdy, and strong, and always there. “Sand piles?”

“Ah, not so much the object, but the shape,” he says, eyeing my chest.

I slap his fingers away from my boobs, and he grins and kisses me again, his strong fingers wrapping in my hair. “I missed you,” he says. “Miss me?”

“Occasionally,” I say, although my heart is pounding, yes, always.

“Work okay?” he asks, and I nod. “And baby Emma?”

“She’s fine,” I say, kissing him again to stop him from talking. Emma is the imaginary child at my imaginary nanny job. She has a bedwetting problem, and will only eat macaroni and cheese, and her stuffed turtle is named Turtle, mostly because the people at the CIA have absolutely no imagination.

His lips brush my cheeks, my ears, my neck, and I feel my body unconsciously lift up to meet him. “Bronze ring,” he says. “In a store window.”

“What?” I mumble against his shirt.

“It reminded me of you,” he says, “of us.”

Us. I still find it amazing that two letters spell out a whole life.



AUTHOR Bio and Links

Lauren Sabel lives in the quirky dark spaces of her mind, and she tries to shed light on these spaces in her books. After publishing VIVIAN DIVINE IS DEAD in Summer 2014 with Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of Harper Collins, she confronted her lifelong fear of being psychic by writing OUT OF MY MIND. Since in this YA thriller, teenage psychic spy Callie Sinclair works undercover for the government, forced to hide her real identity from everyone she loves, Lauren is now certain she’s on the CIA watch list.


Website Blog        Twitter Facebook         Instagram


Buy on Barnes and Nobel




Join By Email

Download My Free Rubrics
* indicates required
Copyright: Sarah Koves 2016. Powered by Blogger.

Influencer

Facebook PopUp